Public Document Pack

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

At the meeting of the Council for the District of Dover held at the Council Offices, Whitfield on Wednesday, 6 December 2017 at 6.00 pm.

Present:

Chairman: Councillor S S Chandler

Councillors:

J S Back S F Bannister T J Bartlett P M Beresford T A Bond B W Butcher P I Carter N J Collor M D Conolly M I Cosin	R J Frost B J Glayzer D Hannent P J Hawkins P G Heath M J Holloway P D Jull L A Keen N S Kenton P S Le Chevalier	K Mills K E Morris D P Murphy M J Ovenden A S Pollitt G Rapley N A G Richards M Rose F J W Scales
M R Eddy	S M Le Chevalier	
Officers:	Chief Executive	

Officers: Chief Executive Director of Environment and Corporate Assets Director of Governance Democratic Services Manager

52 <u>APOLOGIES</u>

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors P M Brivio, G Cowan, A Friend, B Gardner, J M Heron, S J Jones, S C Manion, A M Napier, D A Sargent, P Walker and P M Wallace.

53 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made by Members.

54 <u>ANNOUNCEMENTS</u>

The Chairman of the Council, Councillor S S Chandler, made the following announcements:

(a) St Margaret's-at-Cliffe By-Election

The Chairman welcomed Councillor P D Jull to the Council following his election in the by-election held on 23 November 2017 in the St Margaret'sat-Cliffe Ward arising from the resignation of Councillor P A Watkins.

(b) Death of former District Councillor G Allt

The Chairman announced the sad news of the death of former Councillor George Allt. He had served on the Council from 1979 - 1983 representing

the Priory Ward, 1997 – 2003 representing the Barton Ward and 2003 – 2007 representing the Buckland Ward. He was also a former Mayor of Dover.

The Chairman invited members to share their memories of him.

The Council stood in silence as a mark of respect.

55 <u>ELECTORAL REVIEW - OPTIONS FOR GOVERNANCE ARRANGEMENTS</u>

The Chairman of the Council introduced the agenda item.

It was moved by Councillor K E Morris, and duly seconded by Councillor F J W Scales, that the Council recommend a Council Size of 32 councillors to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

It was proposed that a Council size of 32 councillors would:

- Provide flexibility
- Not make significant additional burdens to Members' workloads by maintaining an average of less than 2 committee seats per councillor
- Maintain the necessary and useful scrutiny function through either one or two scrutiny committees
- Recognised the changes in the methods that the community used to access council services directly had an impact on member workloads
- Provided for a comparable ratio of electors to councillors to that currently in Canterbury City Council and Shepway District Council

It was moved by Councillor M R Eddy, and duly seconded by Councillor S F Bannister, that the Council recommend a Council Size of 37 councillors to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

It was proposed that a Council Size of 37 councillors would:

- Provide for a full level of scrutiny
- Ensure wards with significant levels of deprivation could continue to be represented effectively
- That any reduction from 45 councillors would increase the workload on members
- Allow the Council to deal with the impact of BREXIT
- That the comparison with Canterbury City Council and Shepway District Council was not appropriate

On being put to the meeting it was

- RESOLVED: (a) That a Council Size of 32 Councillors be submitted to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England as the Council's preferred Council Size.
 - (b) That the Chief Executive be authorised to make the submission on behalf of the Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England in accordance with the Council's agreed Council Size number.

Six members present requested that a recorded vote be held in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 18.4. The manner of the voting was as followed:

FOR - Council Size of 32 (22) J S Back	FOR – Council Size of 37 (10) S F Bannister	<u>ABSTAIN (0)</u>
T J Bartlett P M Beresford	M I Cosin	
T A Bond	M R Eddy B J Glayzer	
B W Butcher	P J Hawkins	
PICarter	L A Keen	
S S Chandler	K Mills	
N J Collor	A S Pollitt	
M D Conolly	G Rapley	
R J Frost	N A G Richards	
D Hannent		
P G Heath		
M J Holloway		
P D Jull N S Kenton		
P S Le Chevalier		
S M Le Chevalier		
K E Morris		
D P Murphy		
M J Ovenden		
M Rose		
F J W Scales		

56 URGENT BUSINESS TIME

There were no items of urgent business for consideration.

The meeting ended at 7.07 pm